!-- Google Tag Manager -->

Being charged with an OVI in Ohio is a serious offense. In Ohio, OVI stands for “operating a vehicle impaired” and is the equivalent of a DUI. Having an OVI conviction on your record can change your life forever. For many, even being charged with an OVI can impact their careers and/or employment opportunities and as such an experienced criminal lawyer should be contacted.

Ohio OVI Penalties, Suspensions, and Jail Time

In Ohio, there are mandatory terms of incarceration for OVI offenses, in addition to fines and mandatory license suspensions.

A person convicted of their first OVI offense can expect to receive the following punishment:

Jail Time – Up to 180 days

Fines – Up to $1,075.00

Treatment – At the discretion of the judge

License Suspension – Up to 3 years

A person convicted of their second OVI offense can also expect the following:

Jail Time – Up to 180 days

Fines – Up to $1,625.00

Treatment – Alcohol/drug assessment required

License Suspension – Up to 7 years

A person convicted of their third OVI offense can expect the following penalties:

Jail Time – Up to 1 year

Fines – Up to $2,750.00

Treatment – Alcohol/drug addiction program mandatory

License Suspension – Up to 12 years

Whether you are facing your first, second, or third OVI charge, the attorneys at Busald Funk Zevely, P.S.C. aggressively defend our clients. Call one of our experienced Ohio OVI attorneys today.

Busald Funk Zevely PSC

Busald Funk Zevely PSC
N/a