!-- Google Tag Manager -->

Driver’s License, Registration, or Insurance Offenses

Kentucky has numerous regulations regarding your driver’s license, registration, and insurance, each with different fines, added points, license suspension requirements, and jail time. At Busald Funk Zevely, we want you to be aware of the ramifications of these offenses so that you can be prepared from the start. If you have any additional questions about the provided information, contact one of our traffic violation attorneys today.

Scroll to the right to view more

FineCourt CostsPoints AssessedPotential Immediate License SuspensionPotential Jail TimeOffense Level
License to be in Possession$250. KRS 534.040(2)$1430No90 days. KRS 532.090(2)Class B Misdemeanor
No Operators/Moped License$250. KRS 534.040(2)$1430No90 days. KRS 532.090(2)Class B Misdemeanor
Failure to Notify Address Change to Department of Transportation$250. KRS 534.040(2)$1430No90 days. KRS 532.090(2)Class B Misdemeanor
Owner to Notify Clerk of Residence / Name Change$500. KRS 534.040(2)$1430No12 months. KRS 532.090(1)Class A Misdemeanor
Operating Vehicle with Expired Operators License$250. KRS 534.040(2)$1430No90 days. KRS 532.090(2)Class B Misdemeanor
Failure to Surrender Revoked Operators License$250. KRS 534.040(2)$1430No90 days. KRS 532.090(2)Class B Misdemeanor
Operating on Suspended / Revoked Operators License$250. KRS 534.040(2)$1430No90 days. KRS 532.090(2)Class B Misdemeanor
No / Expired Kentucky Registration Receipt$250. KRS 534.040(2)$1430NoNoViolation
Registration and Title Requirements of Vehicle Not Operated on Highway$500. KRS 534.040(2)$1430No12 months. KRS 532.090(1)Class A Misdemeanor
No / Expired Registration Plates$250. KRS 534.040(2)$1430NoNoViolation
Improper Registration Plate$250. KRS 534.040(2)$1430NoNoViolation
Improper Display of Registration Plate$250. KRS 534.040(2)$1430NoNoViolation
Display of Illegal / Altered Registration Plate$250. KRS 534.040(2)$1430NoNoViolation
Failure of Transferee of Vehicle to Promptly Apply for New Title / Registration$500. KRS 534.040(2)$1430No12 months. KRS 532.090(1)Class A Misdemeanor
Failure to Register Transfer of Motor Vehicle$500. KRS 534.040(2)$1430No12 months. KRS 532.090(1)Class A Misdemeanor
Permitting Operation of Motor Vehicle with Improper Registration$250. KRS 534.040(2)$1430NoNoViolation
None / Improper Use of Temporary Tag When Required$500. KRS 534.040(2)$1430No12 months. KRS 532.090(1)Class A Misdemeanor
Improper Use of Dealer-Demonstrator Tags$25 – $200. KRS 186.991$1430No30 days. KRS 186.991Violation
Improper Use of Dealers Plates$500. KRS 534.040(2)$1430No12 months. KRS 532.090(1)Class A Misdemeanor
Failure to Produce Insurance Card$250. KRS 534.040(2)$1430NoNoViolation
Failure of Owner to Maintain Required Insurance / Security, 1st Offense$500 – $1,000. KRS 304.99-060(1)(a)(1)$14301 year. KRS 304.99-060(1)(a)(2)90 days. KRS 304.99-060(1)(a)(1)Class B Misdemeanor
Failure of Owner to Maintain Required Insurance / Security, 2nd Offense$1,000 – $2,500. KRS 304.99-060(1)(a)(3)$14306 months –2 years. KRS 186.560(5)180 days. KRS 304.99-060(1)(a)(3)Class B Misdemeanor
Failure of Non-Owner Operator to Maintain Required Insurance, 1st Offense$500 – $1,000. KRS 304.99-060(2)(a)$1430No90 days. KRS 304.99-060(2)(a)Class B Misdemeanor
Failure of Non-Owner Operator to Maintain Required Insurance, 2nd Offense$1,000 – $2,500. KRS 304.99-060(2)(b)$14306 months –2 years. KRS 186.560(5)180 days. KRS 304.99-060(2)(b)Class B Misdemeanor

For more information regarding traffic violation fines, court costs, license suspensions, jail time, and offense level, please view the following pages:

Contact Us Today

Busald Funk Zevely PSC

Busald Funk Zevely PSC
N/a