Being charged with theft or shoplifting in Kentucky or Ohio can have serious consequences. Beyond incarceration or substantial fines, few employers will want to hire someone with a theft-related conviction on their record.
Additionally, if you are going through a divorce or custody battle, a theft or shoplifting charge can be used against you and put you on an unequal playing field. As part of the disposition of the case, many courts exclude the offender from being able to enter the premises where the offense was committed.
In Kentucky, the following penalties apply to shoplifting:
Theft of goods valued at under $500
Theft of goods valued at $500 to $10,000; theft of items used to manufacture methamphetamine or theft of a firearm
Theft of goods valued at $10,000 or more
Theft by unlawful taking is a Class A misdemeanor in Kentucky, unless: