Ohio Physical Control Violations

Ohio Physical Control Violations

Unlike Kentucky, Ohio law establishes a separate violation for having physical control of a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol. The Ohio Physical Control Statute defines physical control as “being in the driver’s position of the front seat of a vehicle or in the driver’s position of a streetcar trackless trolley and having possession of the vehicle’s, streetcar’s, or trackless trolley’s ignition key or other ignition device.” The classic example of a physical control violation is the person who leaves a bar and decides to “sleep it off” in their vehicle without driving.

Lawmakers in Ohio decided not punish someone as severely for getting into a vehicle under the influence of alcohol, but deciding not to drive. However, a physical control violation still has severe consequences including jail time, fines, treatment, license suspension, and the installation of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.

Ohio Physical Control Penalties

A person convicted of a physical control violation can expect to receive the following punishment:

  • Jail Time – Up to 180 days
  • Fines – Up to $1,000.00
  • Treatment – At the discretion of the judge
  • License Suspension – Up to 12 months
  • Ignition Interlock – At the discretion of the judge

A physical control violation is a Misdemeanor – 1st Degree in Ohio. These cases are too important to face alone. If you are charged with a Physical Control violation in Ohio, call one of our Ohio Physical Control attorneys today.